Parties sign commitment for peaceful election

Saddened by Jungu incident, PM vows for investigation

Published On: May 10, 2017 06:58 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, May 10: Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal informed the Election Commission that the government would investigate Jungu incident that claimed life of a UML cadre.

In a meeting of political parties, summoned by the EC on Wednesday, the PM said that he is saddened by the Jungu incident and he has already asked concerned agencies to investigate the incident.

Earlier in the meeting, leaders of the main opposition CPN-UML had questioned the PM about Jungu incident. UML leaders Subash Nembang had raised question about the death of UML cadre in Dolakha.

Cadres of the UML and CPN (Maoist Center) clashed for hours on Tuesday night and seriously injured UML cadre Kul Bahadur Tamang succumbed to the injuries when he was being rushed to a hospital in district headquarters Charikot. Kul Bahadur is a son of UML cadre Gore Tamang, who is contesting for ward member at Gaurishankar-2.

In the same brawl, a local teacher Dil Bahadur Budhathoki, who is believed to be close to the UML, and Maoist Center's candidate for ward-chairman Bharat Karki have sustained serious injuries. Budhathoki is taken to the capital city Kathmandu as the local hospital referred him for intensive and further treatment.

During Wednesday's meeting, former Prime Minister and Naya Shakti Party Coordinator Baburam Bhattarai also questioned PM why his cadres were attacked in Gorkha by cadres of PM's party.

Meanwhile, the major political parties have signed a five-point commitment paper with the Election Commission. The commitment paper has mainly stressed that the political parties would remain committed to conduct the local level elections in peaceful and organized environment.

Chief Election Commissioner Ayodhee Prasad Yadav has summoned top leaders of the political parties after violent incidents took place in some of districts in relation to the local level election.

PM and CPN (Maoist Center) Chair Dahal, NC President Sher Bahadur Deuba, UML leader Nembang, Naya Shakti Coordinator Bhattarai, RPP leader Buddhiman Tamang, Federal Socialist Forum Nepal Co-Chair Rajendra Shrestha have signed the commitment papers along with others.

Leave A Comment