Ruling alliance candidates victorious in more than two-thirds local bodies

Published On: May 20, 2022 04:12 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, May 20: Political parties associated with the five-party ruling coalition have won the elections to more than two-thirds local government.

Of the 635 local bodies where vote counting has completed till this noon, the candidates of the ruling alliance have been elected in 428 local bodies.   

The Nepali Congress has registered its victory in 282 local bodies. As per the Election Commission, the NC has won the elections to the post of mayors of 102 municipalities and chairpersons of 180 rural municipalities. 

Similarly, the CPN (Maoist Center) has been elected in 112 local bodies including 20 municipalities and 92 rural municipalities. 

Likewise, candidates of Janata Samajbadi Party Nepal have registered their win in 20 local bodies and CPN (Unified Socialist) in 14 local bodies.   

The NC, CPN (Maoist Center), CPN (Unified Socialist) and Janata Samajbadi Party Nepal had made electoral alliances in six metropolises, 11 sub-metropolises as well as some local bodies for the polls.  

Political parties associated with the alliance have been leading in the vote count in the remaining local bodies.

The CPN-UML that stood atop the tally in the last local election is in second position this time. CPN-UML candidates have secured wins in a total of 175 local bodies - 60 municipalities and 115 rural municipalities in the recently held election.

In the earlier election in 2017, UML emerged victorious in 294 municipalities. The party had formed an election alliance with Rastriya Prajatantra Party, Loktantrik Samajbadi among other parties.

Similarly, NC candidates have won deputy mayor posts in 77 municipalities and vice chairperson posts in 180 rural municipalities. The UML has won deputy mayor posts in 79 municipalities and vice-chairperson posts in 117 rural municipalities. 

Coalition partner CPN (Maoist Center) candidates have been elected deputy mayors in 28 municipalities and vice-chairpersons in 91 rural municipalities. 

Janata Samajbadi Party Nepal's candidates won vice-chairperson posts in 14 rural municipalities while CPN (Unified Socialist)'s candidates in 8 local units' deputy mayor post.

NC candidates have secured the highest win in ward chairperson posts.

So far, NC's 2,392 candidates have been elected to the post of ward chairperson. Similarly, 1,907 candidates from CPN-UML, 989 from CPN (Maoist Center), 238 from Janata Samajbadi party and 100 CPN (Unified Socialist) have been elected the ward chairperson, the Commission said.

Leave A Comment