Ruling alliance candidates secure victory in Birgunj Metropolis

Published On: May 24, 2022 11:06 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

BIRGUNJ, May 24: Both mayoral and deputy mayoral candidates from the ruling alliance have won in Birgunj Metropolitan City.

Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP) leader Rajesh Man Singh has been elected as mayor of the metropolis by securing 46,215 votes while his nearest rival from CPN-UML Bijay Sarabagi got 23,671 votes.

Birgunj is the only metropolis in Madhesh Province. Singh won the election by a wide margin of 22,544 votes.

Similarly, Nepali Congress candidate Imtiyaj Alam has been elected as deputy mayor by polling 25,158 votes. His nearest rival Purushottam Jha of Loktantrik Samajbadi Party got only 6,719 votes. 

The Office of the Chief Returning Officer is making preparation for the formal announcement about the victory.

The ruling coalition had formed the electoral alliance where there are Nepali Congress, CPN (Maoist Center), CPN (Unified Socialist) and Janata Samajbadi Party. Similarly, UML and Loktantrik Samajbadi Party had formed the electoral alliance by fielding Sarabagi as mayoral candidate. Sarabagi is the immediate past mayor of Birgunj Metropolis.


Leave A Comment