RSP rules out possibility of joining govt ‘anytime soon’

Published On: February 14, 2023 08:33 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Feb 14: The Rastriya Swatantra Party (RSP) led by Rabi Lamichhane has decided not to join the government ‘anytime soon’ even though the ruling CPN-UML is exerting pressure on Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal to bring the party onboard the government.

A joint meeting of the party’s Central Working Committee and Parliamentary Committee held at the party’s headquarters in Sanepa on Monday took a decision to this effect, according to the party’s Joint General Secretary Kabindra Burlakoti.

Burlakoti said that RSP had decided to quit the agreement as Prime Minister Dahal failed to honor the agreement reached earlier with the party. He said that there is no chance of RSP joining the government unless the agreement reached earlier is fully implemented.

The CPN (Maoist Center) has declined to give home ministry to the RSP despite repeated requests of the UML.

RSP had decided to quit the government after the party refused to reinstate RSP Chairman Lamichhane to the post of Deputy Prime Minister and Home Minister. Lamichhane had quit the post after the Supreme Court found him guilty in the citizenship case. He regained his citizenship certificate.

The RSP meeting on Monday also expanded its Central Working Committee to 40 members. The party earlier had only 24 Central Working Committee members.  

The 16 new CC members appointed on Monday include Nisha Mehata, Bindhabasini Kansakar, Rupa Shankar, Bijaya Jairu, Megh Ale, Mohan Bahadur Thapa, Khusbu Sarkar Shrestha and Tika Sangraula. Hari Bhatta, Dhruba Giri, Lima Adhikari, Ramesh Prasain, Arjun Adhikari, Kranti Shikha Dhital, Goma Chhetri and Pratibha Rawal are also among those appointed as RSP’s central members. 


Leave A Comment