Rawal and Bhandari vie for Sudurpaschim Province Assembly Speaker

Published On: January 12, 2023 12:30 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Jan 12: Elections are being held today for the election of Speaker of Sudurpaschim Province Assembly. The Provincial Assembly Secretariat said that the election of the Speaker will be held at 1 pm.

Man Bahadur Rawal of the Nepali Congress and Bhim Bhandari of the CPN (Maoist Center) have filed their nominations for the post of Speaker of Sudurpaschim Province Assembly.

According to the Speaker's election schedule, Wednesday was the time for nomination registration, opposition and withdrawal of nominations. After Rawal and Bhandari, who registered their nominations, did not withdraw their nominations, the election process is scheduled to pick the Speaker on Thursday.

Bhandari of the Maoist center is supported by UML, Nagarik Unmukti Party and RPP along with the Maoist Center. Rawal of the Congress is supported by the Congress and the CPN Unified Socialists. Here is an independent candidate who has not yet decided where he will vote.

In Sudurpaschim Province, which has 53 provincial assembly members, there are 19 MPs from the Congress, 11 from the Maoist Center, 10 from the UML, seven from the Nagarik Unmukti Party,  four from the CPN United Socialist Party,  one from the RPP and one independent.


Leave A Comment