Railway Team defends PM Cup Volleyball title

Published On: March 1, 2017 10:00 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

NEPALGUNJ, March 1: Defending champion Railway Team, India, on Wednesday retained the title of the Prime Minister Cup Fourth Women's Volleyball Tournament held in Nepalgunj. The visiting team overcame departmental giant Armed Police Force (APF) in the final of the tournament for the second time in a row. 

In the summit clash played at the covered hall of Nepalgunj Stadium, Railway Team studded with two current national players of India, registered a straight sets win over APF, giving a sense of deja vu of last year's final. Railway overcame APF with scores of 27-25, 25-17, 25-22. In the last edition as well, the visiting Indian team had defeated APF in straight sets. 

The winner and the runner-up were rewarded with purse of Rs 111,000 and Rs 55,000 respectively along with trophies, certificates and medals. 

The first set went down to the wires as APF pushed the scoreline to 25-25. However, the Indian team prevailed in the tiebreaker as it earned two successive points to win the set. APF could not continue with same momentum in the other sets and eventually lost the match. 

APF, studded with Nepali internationals Saraswati Chaudhary, Nebika Chaudhary, Reshma Bhandari, Usha Bista and skipper Binita Budathoki, failed in its ambition of avenging the defeat of last edition. Besides the national players, the other players of the squad are also household names in domestic volleyball. 

Railway's spiker Priti Singh and Anushree Ghosh took charge of the visiting side's spike to put APF under pressure. Similarly, Railway coach Dipti Ghosh is also the former member of the Indian national team. “Nepali players are also capable and talented. However, they need to raise their standard,” she said. “It gives us pleasure to play against Nepali teams and specifically speaking APF has a good teamwork,” she said.  

Meanwhile, Nepal Police Club took home the third place honors. Police overcame departmental rival Tribhuvan Army Club 25-18, 20-25, 25-15, 25-23. Police is the winner of the first edition. Police earned Rs 35,000 as the third-place finisher. 

Anushree of the winning team was declared the best player. She was rewarded with a purse of Rs 10,000 and trophy. APF players Saraswati Chaudhary was declared the best spiker while her teammates Usha Bista took home the best blocker award and Nebika Chaudhary best server.

Visiting Railway's Richu Marry and Pirosmita Bapari were awarded with best setter and defense respectively. 

National Sports Council Treasurer Surendra Hamal, members Binod Mainali and Shanti Singh and Mid-western Regional Sports Development Committee President Bhim Oli among others distributed prizes to the winners. 

The five-day event played in league-cum-knockout format featured six teams including two teams from India.

Leave A Comment