CIAA chief Rai among others take oath of office and secrecy

Published On: February 3, 2021 10:43 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Feb 3: Newly-appointed members of various constitutional bodies have taken the oath of office and secrecy this morning.

A constitutional council meeting held on December 15 had recommended as many as 45 individuals in various constitutional bodies.

Chief Justice Cholendra SJB Rana administered oath to newly appointed office bearers amid a ceremony this morning at the President’s Office in Sitalniwas.

Almost four dozen appointments were made in various constitutional bodies earlier in December, 2020 before the dissolution of the House of Representatives (HoR).

Former Home Secretary Prem Rai was appointed as the chief commissioner of the Commission for the Investigation of Abuse of Authority (CIAA) and Tap Bahadur Magar as chief commissioner of National Human Rights Commission among other appointments.

Following the dissolution of the lower house, the newly appointed office bearers were sworn in without parliamentary hearings. 

As per the Work Procedures Regulations 2075 BS of the federal parliament, there is a provision of automatic appointments of those recommended by the CC meeting if their hearing is not held for 45 days.


Leave A Comment