PM Cup Women’s Cricket

Province 1, Province 5 register easy wins

Published On: June 22, 2019 08:46 AM NPT By: RAJENDRA BHATTA

MAHENDRANAGAR, June 22: Province 1 and Province 5 have registered wins in the ongoing Fourth Prime Minister Cup Women’s Cricket Tournament in Kanchanpur on Friday. 

In the first match played in Mahendranagar, Province 1 defeated Province 2 by eight wickets, while Province 5 saw off Gandaki Province by eight wickets. 

Earlier in the first match, Province 2 won the toss, elected to bat first and only made 71 runs losing nine wickets in the allocated 20 overs. Shanti Chaudhary scored the highest 14 runs for the team, while Shobha Ale and Saraswati Chaudgary hit 13 runs each. The other batswomen failed to reach the double figures. 

In reply, Province 5 easily chased the low target in 13 overs as national team captain Rubina Chhetri hit the highest unbeaten 26, Goma Thapa added 25 runs and Kajol Shrestha scored 19 runs for the winning team.  

In the bowling brilliance, Chhetri conceded 16 runs and claimed four wickets and was also named the player of the match. 

Shanti and Saraswati picked a wicket each for Province 2. 

Later on the day, Gandaki won the toss, opted to bat first and was limited to 79 runs for the loss of all its wickets inside 18.3 overs. Province 5 chased the target insided 8.3 overs losing two wickets. 
Sushila Gurung hit the highest 26 runs for Gandaki, while Pramila Baniya added 17 runs. Also, Sancha Mahara and Namuna Karki scored 13 runs each. The other batswomen could not hit double figures and hence, was limited to a poor total. 

It was another bowling brilliance of the day as Province 5’s Krishna Marasaini pocketed three wickets giving away 18 runs, while Sharmila Magar and Bina Thapa picked up two wickets each. 
In reply, Nery Thapa hit the highest 24 runs off 19 balls for the team including five fours. Likewise, Gita Gosain scored 20, while Mamta Thapa added 17 runs. Also, Yoshada Bista and Saraswati Gharti Magar scored 15 and 10 runs respectively.   

Sushila took two wickets conceding seven runs in the losing cause. Marasaini was adjudged the player of the match. 

Leave A Comment