Appointments in Constitutional Bodies

Prez Bhandari appoints 20 commissioners in various constitutional bodies

Published On: June 24, 2021 05:14 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, June 24: President Bidya Devi Bhandari has appointed 20 commissioners of various constitutional bodies including the Public Service Commission and the Commission for the Investigation of Abuse of Authority (CIAA).

Those receiving appointments in various constitutional bodies on Thursday were recommended earlier by the Constitutional Council meeting on May 6. The Constitutional Council meeting was boycotted by the House Speaker Agni Sapkota and the main opposition party, Nepali Congress (NC), leader Sher Bahadur Deuba.  

There is a constitutional provision to appoint those recommended by the Constitutional Council as commissioners of the constitutional bodies after their parliamentary hearings. But since the parliament has been dissolved all those recommended by the Constitutional Council have been without undergoing the parliamentary hearing process.

Those appointed in various constitutional bodies on Thursday include Madhab Prasad Regmi (Jhapa) as chairperson of Public Service Commission and Madhav Belbase (Kapilvastu), Bir Bahadur Rai (Ilam), Udaya Silwal (Lalitpur), and Manju Kumari (Mahottai) as its members.

Similarly, Dr Ram Krishna Timilsena (Kaski) has been appointed as chairperson of the National Inclusion Commission and Pushpa Raj Timilsina (Parbat) and Man Prasad Khatry (Bajhang) as its members. Dr. Hari Poudel (Baglung) and Dr. Sumitra Shrestha (Lalitpur) are appointed as commissioners of the CIAA.

Among others, President Bhandari has appointed Sagun Shumsher JB Rana (Rupandehi) as a member of the Election Commission, Bipin Raj Niraula (Panchthar) and Sudha Kumari Jha (Dhanusha) as members of the Natural Resources and Fiscal Commission and Jaya Ghimire (Dhanusha) and Sabitri Kumari Sharma Tiwari (Parbat) as members in the National Women Commission.


Leave A Comment