PM Deuba resigns, Oli to be sworn in as 38th PM of Nepal

Published On: February 15, 2018 11:27 AM NPT

KATHMANDU, Feb 15: Following a national address to the country from the Prime Minister's Residence, PM Sher Bahadur Deuba has resigned from his position. KP Sharma Oli, the chairperson of CPN-UML will be sworn in as country’s 38th prime minister at 4 PM today.   

The resignation came after the Election Commission (EC) submitted the final result of House of Represenatives (HoR) under Proportional Representation (PR) electoral system to the President on Wednesday evening.

Following the resignation of Deuba, CPN-UML and CPN (MC) are jointly preparing to form a new government under unified party leadership. CPN-UML has unanimously proposed the name of the party Chair KP Sharma Oli for the post of Prime Minister.

Nepali Congress President Deuba was elected as the 40th prime minister of Nepal on June 6, 2017, forming a coalition government with CPN (Maoist Center).


Leave A Comment