PM Deuba expands his cabinet, finally

Published On: July 26, 2017 05:17 PM NPT By: Smriti Dhungana  | @aesmriti

10 from NC, 6 from Maoist Center, 2 from Nepal Loktantrik Forum, 1 from CPN (United) sworn in as new ministers

KATHMANDU, July 26: Amid criticism from various quarters over the prolonged delay, Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba has expanded his cabinet on Wednesday. 

President Bidya Devi Bhandari administered oath of office and secrecy to 10 ministers from Nepali Congress, six from CPN (Maoist Center) two from  Nepal Loktantrick Forun and  one from CPN  (United).

Ambika Basnet has been sworn in as the Minister for Cooperatives and Poverty Alleviation, Giriraj Mani Pokharel as the Minister for Health, Jitendra Dev  as Minister for Culture and Tourism, Gopal Dahit as Minister for Land Reforms, Ram Krishan Yadav as Minister for Agriculture Development and Mohan Basnet as Minister for Information and Communications.

Similarly, Mahendra Yadav has been sworn in as Minister for Water Supply and Sanitation, Bir Bahadur Balayar as Minister for Physical Infrastructure and Transport, Min Biswokarma as Minister for Commerce, Bhimsen Das as Minister for Defense, Rajan KC as Minister for Youth and Sports, Yagya Bahadur Thapa as Minister for Law.

Likewise, Sanjaya Kumar Gautam has been sworn in as Minster for Irrigation, Tek Bahaur as Minister for General Administration, Shiva Kumar Mandal as Minister for Supply, Mahendra Bahadur Shahi as Minister for Energy, Asha Koirala as  Minister for Women, Children and Social Welfare and Basanta Kumar Tharu as Minister for Livestock Development while Mithila Chaudhari as  Minister for Environment.

Deuba has already appointed three ministers -- Gyanendra Bahadur Karki (Finance), Gopal Man Shrestha (Education) and Farmullaha Mansoor (Labor)--from his party. 

Maoist Center, likewise, has already sent Krishna Bahadur Mahara (Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign), Janardan Sharma (Home) and Prabhu Shah (Urban) into the cabinet. Similarly, Bijaya Kumar Gachchhadar of Nepal Loktantrik Forum (NLF) has been appointed  deputy prime minister and minister for local development.


Leave A Comment