PHSC endorses names of envoys nominated for 12 countries

Published On: March 22, 2017 05:44 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, March 22: The Parliamentary Hearing Special Committee (PHSC) has endorsed the names for ambassadors to 12 countries unanimously.

The government had recommended the names based on political quota, among which five were from Nepali Congress, four from CPN (Maoist Centre), two from Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) and one from People's Rights Forum-Democratic.

Only six complaints were registered against the nominees. The committee summoned and discussed with them regarding complains and endorsed the name on Wednesday.

The committee did not find any basis to deny their nomination during the hearing, said committee Chairman Kul Bahadur Gurung. After the endorsement, the government will send the agreemo to the related countries. Once their name is approved, President will appoint them to the post.

The government on February 20 had recommended the names of 14 individuals for the post.  After the dispute had stirred on the names of Sharmila Parajuli for Oman and Aasha Lama for the United Arab Emirates, their names were reportedly withdrawn later. However, Parajuli’s name was included again later.

The name of Bharat Rayamajhi, recommended for Spain, however, was dropped as Nepal is yet to establish the embassy in Madrid.

The individuals who got the House panel’s unanimous approval on Wednesday are as follows:

Yuba Nath Lamsal (Denmark)

Lucky Sherpa (Australia)

Mahendra Prasad Rajput (Saudi Arabia)                                     

Padam Sundas (Bahrain)

Arjun Jung Bahadur Singh (South Korea)

Bhim Udas (Myanmar)

Dr Choplal Bhusal (Bangladesh)

Prof. Bishwambher Pyakuryal (Sri Lanka)

Ramesh Prasad Koirala (Qatar)

Pratibha Rana (Japan)

Sharmila Parajuli (Oman)

Niranjan Thapa (Israel)




Leave A Comment