Parties agree to form 11-member panel to probe FinMin Sharma’s role in involving ‘outsiders’ in budget preparation

Published On: July 6, 2022 04:02 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, July 6: The main opposition and the ruling parties have agreed to form an 11-member parliamentary probe committee to investigate the role of Finance Minister Janardan Sharma in involving ‘outsiders’ to revise tax rates in the course of the preparation of the annual budget for the fiscal year 2022/23.

Chief Whip of the main opposition party, CPN-UML, Bishal Bhattarai said they have reached an agreement to form an 11-member probe committee. However, there has not been an agreement yet as to which party will lead the probe committee. The UML has staked claim for the leadership.

As per the agreement reached among the parties, the 11-member committee will have four members from the UML, two each from the Nepali Congress and CPN (Maoist Center) and one each from CPN (Unified Socialist), Loktantrik Samajbadi Party and Janata Samajbadi Party. Speaker Agni Sapkota is scheduled to announce the names of the members in the probe committee during the house meeting today.


Leave A Comment