Parliamentary committees to elect leadership on Monday

Published On: August 27, 2023 09:50 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Aug 27: Ten thematic committees under the House of Representative (HoR) are set to elect their presidents on Monday.

The parliament secretariat has released a schedule for the election to the leadership of the HoR thematic committees as per the announcement made by HoR Speaker Devraj Ghimire.

Secretary of HoR Padhma Prasad Pandey stated that candidacy filing and release of the candidates' list is scheduled for Sunday.  

The proposals received for the committee presidents shall be tabled at the concerned committees on Monday.

As per the HoR Regulations, election to the HoR committees shall be convened on the date determined by the HoR Speaker and the secretary should publish the notice 48 hours before the election.

Time for the candidacy filing is set till 4:00 pm on Sunday and the lists of the candidates would be released at 4:30 pm on Sunday itself.

The committee members proposing the chair for the concerned committees shall table their proposals at the committee meeting on Monday.

If a lone candidacy is filed, the candidate will be elected as the committee president unopposed.

Leave A Comment