Panel formed to stop affiliation to foreign open universities

Published On: October 21, 2016 08:37 AM NPT

KATHMANDU, Oct 21: The Women, Children, Senior Citizen and Social Welfare Committee (WCSCSWC) of the parliament has formed a sub-committee to stop new affiliation granted under foreign open universities.

According to the WCSCSWC, an 11-member sub-committee was formed during a meeting held on Thursday regarding the issuance of new affiliations from foreign open universities.

However, the old affiliations will not be annulled.

Ranju Jha, chairperson of the WCSCSWC, said that they will also ask the Ministry of Education to study on issues such as students being forced to pay high fees by the colleges affiliated to the foreign open universities. 

“The sub-committee will submit its report within 15 days,” she added. The sub-committee comprises of Dr Ganesh Man Gurung, Dr Babu Ram Pokharel, Umesh Shrestha, Shree Maya Thakali, Nisha Shah, Sharada Paudel, Teju Lal Chaudhari, Ram Hari Subedi, Laxman Rajbanshi, Anandadevi Pant and Badri Pandey.

Leave A Comment