Over 60 former MPs face defeat in parliamentary election

Published On: November 28, 2022 09:20 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Nov 28: More than 60 former Members of Parliaments (MP) contesting this election have lost in the election. Those defeated also include party chair, vice-chair, general secretary, former chief minister of the province and other top leaders.

In the elections, former Prime Minister and senior leader of CPN (Unified Socialist) Jhala Nath Khanal, Chairman of Janata Samajwadi Party Nepal Upendra Yadav, senior leader of Loktantrik Samajwadi Party Rajendra Mahato, CPN-UML senior-vice chairman Ishwar Pokharel, Vice-chairman Surendra Pandey, general secretary Shanker Pokharel, assistant general secretary Pradip Kumar Gyawali got defeated.

Likewise, general secretary of CPN (Maoist Centre) Dev Prasad Gurung, assistant general secretary duo Giriraj Mani Pokharel and Pampha Bhusal also faced defeat while former chief minister of Province No. 1 and UML leader Sher Dhan Rai is one among other leaders staying out of the legislative body. 

Former speaker of House of Representatives Onsari Gharti, former deputy speaker Pushpa Bhsual, vice-chairperson of Rastriya Janamorcha Durga Poudel, Home Minister Bal Krishna Khand, NC assistant general secretary Uma Kanta Chaudhary and other leaders also could not make to the HoR.

The other former MPs witnessing defeat in this poll include Matrika Prasad Yadav, Mohammad Istiyak Rayi, Yagya Raj Sunuwar, Rajendra Prasad Gautam, Rajendra Prasad Shrestha, Ram Kumari Jhankri, Hridayesh Tripathi and Rambir Manandhar. 

Likewise, this election remained a tough nut to crack for the politicians as Laxman Lal Karn, Lal Babu Pandit, Sujata Koirala, Lekhraj Bhatta, Bijaya Kumar Gachchhadar, Bina Magar, Birodh Khatiwada, Som Prasad Pandey, Sher Bahadur Tamang, Bijaya Subba, Bishal Bhattarai, Surya Prasad Pathak, Komal Oli, Kamal Thapa, Jeevan Ram Shrestha, Maheshwar Jung Gahatraj, Krishna Sitaula and Umesh Shrestha.

Leave A Comment