ODI Series : Canada XI defeats Nepal A by four wickets

Published On: February 22, 2024 04:00 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Feb 22: Canada XI defeated Nepal A in the third ODI match by four wickets. With this victory, Canada has won the three-match series 2-1.

After winning the toss, Canada invited Nepal to bat first, limiting Nepal A to 181 runs in the allotted 50 overs. The Nepali team made the score losing all their wickets.

Canada achieved the target of 182 runs given by Nepal A to win the series by losing 6 wickets in 38.5 overs with the help of Nicholas Kirton's half-century.

Kirton led Canada's innings after a key dismissal at 71 runs. Collaborating with Nikhil Dutta, they scored 29 runs for the fifth wicket, until Dutta fell at a personal score of 14 runs. Kirton then teamed up with Navneet Daliwal, adding 68 runs for the sixth wicket. However, in the 39th over, Dutta was dismissed by Basir Ahmad at 38 runs. Yet, Kirton secured victory for Canada with a boundary in the fifth ball, ending unbeaten at 58 runs. Aaron Johnson contributed 36 runs to the team's success.

Earlier, leading the charge for Nepal A, Arjun Kumal and Ashutosh Ghiraiya duo scored 51 runs.  In the fifth ball of the 14th over, Ghiraiya was dismissed after scoring 28 runs. 

Arjun Kumal was dismissed for 27 runs while Basir Ahmed and Sundeep Jora scored 24 runs each. Rashid Khan and Pratish GC were dismissed for 19 runs each whereas Sujan Thapaliya scored 20 runs.


Leave A Comment