New Regulation specifies 10 thematic committees under HoR

Published On: June 8, 2018 08:32 PM NPT

KATHMANDU, June 8: The House of Representatives (HoR) – the lower house of the federal parliament – will have 10 thematic committees under its radar. 

The 'House of Representatives Regulation-2075 BS' endorsed today has specified the provision that there would be 10 thematic committees in the lower house. 

With this, the Ministry of Finance, National Natural Resource and Finance Commission, Investment Board and National Planning Commission have come under the ambit of Economic Committee. 

Secondly, the jurisdiction of the International Relations Committee includes monitoring, evaluation and supervision of the activities and performance of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Culture and Ministry of Tourism and Civil Aviation. 

The Commerce and Industry and Consumers' Welfare Committee is entrusted with the responsibility to monitor the works of the Ministry of Industry, Commerce and Supply, Ministry of Labour, Employment and Social Security and consumers' welfare. 

As stated in the Regulation, the Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs, Judicial Council, Judicial Service Commission, Office of Attorney General and National Human Rights Commission should be held responsible to the Law, Justice and Human Rights Committee. 

Similarly, the Agriculture, Cooperative and Natural Resource Committee will look after the functions of Ministry of Agriculture, Land Management and Cooperatives, Ministry of Energy, Hydropower and Irrigation and Ministry of Forest and Environment. 

Likewise, the Women and Social Committee will oversee the performances of Ministry of Women, Children and Seniot Citizen, National Women Commission, National Dalit Commission, National Inclusion Commission, Commission on Indigenous Nationalities, Madhesi Commission, Tharu Commission and Muslim Commission. 

Likewise, the Office of Prime Minister and Council of Ministers, Ministry of Home, Ministry of Defense, Ministry of Federal Affairs and General Administration, Commission for Investigation of Abuse of Authority, Public Service Commission, Election Commission and peace process related works have been put under the scope of works of the State Affairs and Good Governance Committee. 

Similarly, the Development and Technology Committee includes the Ministry of Physical Infrastructure and Transport, Ministry of Communication and Information Technology, Ministry of Drinking Water and Urban Planning and National Reconstruction Authority. 

Ministry of Education, Science and Technology, Ministry of Health and Population and Ministry of Youth and Sports have come under the scrutiny of Education and Health Committee. 
The Public Accounts Committee has the juridscition to look after the annual report of the Public Accounts and Auditor General. 


Leave A Comment