New prison houses to be built in 17 districts

Published On: April 26, 2017 01:21 PM NPT

KATHMANDU, April 26: The Department of Prison Management is to replace old and earthquake-damaged prisons in 17 districts with the new ones. The construction will be undertaken in collaboration with the Department of Urban Development and Building Construction. 

Overcrowding in prisons is a growing challenge for prison management in Nepal. 
Sarlahi, Sindhuli, Dolakha, Sindhupalchowk, Kavrepalanchowk, Nawalparasi, Palpa, Manang, Mugu, Dolpa, Humla, Jumla, Surkhet, Jajarkot, Dailekh, Bajhang, and Dadeldhura districts will get new prison houses. 

Likewise, with the support from the National Reconstruction Authority (NRA), women's prisons are to be constructed in Solukhumbu, Okhaldhunga, Ramechhap, Rasuwa, Jaganathdewal, Nakhhu, Gorkha, Lamjung and Dadhing, the Department said. 

There are 74 prisons housing over 18,000 inmates in 72 districts and accommodating this number against their capacity for 10,000 inmates. Two districts Bara and Dhanusha have no prison. RSS

Leave A Comment