Nepal Storm wins ACPL

Published On: July 4, 2017 09:35 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, July 4: Nepal Storm lifted the trophy of the Asian Club Premier League (ACPL) T20 Cricket Tournament defeating Sri Lankan Lions by 20 runs in the summit clash on Tuesday. 

After becoming the champion of the inaugural edition of the ACPL, Storm bagged a purse of Rs 4 million. Likewise, the runner-up Lions was rewarded with Rs 1.6 million. 

Meanwhile the final clash at TU Cricket Ground was halted by rain and it was reduced to 10 overs per side. Storm, which won the toss and opted to bat first, scored a total of 108 runs losing seven wickets in the allotted 10 overs. In reply, Lions was bowled out for 81-7 in 10 overs.   

Storm's Pawan Chandel stroked highest 42 runs facing 19 balls while Jitendar Sharma made 23 runs off 10 balls for the winning side. Likewise, Bhupendra Thapa added 14 runs off 14 balls for Storm. Utsav Chandra, Harshana and Lovi Brar pocketed one wicket each for Lions. 

Meanwhile none of the batsmen made decent runs for Lions in order to meet the target.

Harshana struck 26 runs off 20 balls while unbeaten Sanjay Khichad made 23 runs facing 16 balls. Likewise, Akash Goutal scored 12 runs off seven balls while none other batsmen touched double digit. Shubhanshu Sahu was dismissed for four runs while Utsav Chandra, Lovi Brar and Sandeep were sent to the pavilion for one run respectively. 

 Malwinder, Gaurav Barabade and Ashish Bisht claimed two wickets for Storm. 

The tournament organized by Ultimate Sports Management (USM), an Indian sports management company, in association with National Sports Council (NSC) had started from June 19. 

The competition featured six franchise teams from Nepal, India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan and the United Arab Emirates (UAE).  

ACPL saw the participation of the home team's Nepal Storm as well as Indian Stars, Sri Lankan Lions, Bangladeshi Tigers, Afghanistan Bulls and the UAE's Dubai Warriors.

Leave A Comment