Nepal-India border in Kanchanpur to be sealed for 48 hours

Published On: April 22, 2022 07:42 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

MAHENDRANAGAR, April 22: An Indo-Nepal coordination meeting concluded at Mahendranagar of Kanchanpur today agreed to seal the Nepal-India border points in the district for 48 hours in view of the local level elections. 

As per the bilateral understanding, the border shall be sealed for 48 hours prior to the elections in view of the election sensitivity. Nepal is holding the local level election on May 13.

Kanchanpur’s Chief District Officer Ram Prasad Pandey said the meeting also discussed about issues relating to the containment of cross-border crime and animal poaching besides the election matters

Nepal-India transit points shall be sealed prior to 48 hours of May 13, the day fixed for holding the local level elections at all 753 units in a single phase, it is said. 

However, movement for special purposes such as emergency hospital visits and for those g death rituals will be allowed during the period.  “We are univocal to a joint survey team to carry out border demarcation.”  

According to CDO Pandey, the two countries' security agencies representatives agreed to move forward by exchanging information on the control of criminal activities and wildlife poaching and smuggling.

Emerging from the meeting, India's DIG Nilesh Anand Bharne reaffirmed the Indian side's commitment for cooperation on sealing the borders and ensuring peace and security in the bordering areas in the upcoming May 13's local level election.

"We are expecting cooperation from Nepali officials in the election to be held in Champawat area in Uttarakhand in India," he said, adding that Indian and Nepali security agencies had been collaborating closely to combat crimes in the bordering areas.

Present in the meeting from Nepal side were CDO of Kanchanpur Ram Prasad Pandey, Sudurpaschim Province Police Chief DIG Purusottam Kandel, Armed Police Force's DIG Durga Prasad Bhattarai and chief various government in Sudurpaschim Province among others.

Likewise, Indian side officials include District Magistrate (DM) of Champawat Vineet Tomar, DM of Pilibhit Pulkit Khare, UdhamSinghNagar's DM Yugal Kishore Pant among others.


Leave A Comment