NCP names in-charges, office bearers for provinces

Published On: September 22, 2018 07:11 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

Madhav Nepal faction dissatisfied

KATHMANDU, Sept 22: A day before one of its chairmen and Prime Minister KP Oli leaves for New York to participate in the UN General Assembly, the ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP) has finalized the nominations of provincial in-charges, deputy in-charges and office bearers of the party’s provincial committees. 

The chairmen duo of the party— Oli and Pushpa Kamal Dahal—finalized the nomination during the secretariat meeting on Friday amid the absence of two members of the nine-member secretariat of the party. Senior NCP leaders Madhav Kumar Nepal and Narayan Kaji Shrestha are currently out of the country.

The two senior leaders appointed party in-charges, deputy in-charges, chairpersons and other office bearers of all seven provinces ignoring in some cases the party’s rule of one person, one post policy. 

Madhav Nepal faction in the party has expressed serious dissatisfaction over the appointment of the in-charges, deputy in-charges and other office bearers of the provincial committees. Former lawmaker and youth leader Jagannath Khatiwada have said that the appointment of leaders without any fixed criteria and appropriate basis is not good. Nepal faction has also alleged that standing committee has also been undermined while taking crucial decisions.

The Nepal Communist Party (NCP) has appointed party in-charges and deputy in-charges in all seven provinces and members in the party provincial organization committee. Among the provincial-in-charge, six leaders are from the erstwhile UML and one leader from the erstwhile CPN (Maoist Center). Similarly, five provincial committee chairpersons have been appointed from the former Maoist Center and one chairperson has been picked from the then UML.

Bhim Acharya of UML was appointed as in-charge, while Sabitri Kafle as deputy in charge in the party’s Province 1 Committee. Likewise, Devraj Ghimire (UML) and Suresh Kumar Rai were appointed as chairperson and secretary of the provincial committee, respectively. 

Likewise, Satya Narayan Mandal of UML was picked as in-charge of Province 2, while Bishwonath Sah was appointed as deputy in-charge. Prabhu Sah (Maoist Center) and Suman Pyakurel were chosen as chairperson and secretary of the provincial committee, respectively. 

While Ashta Laxmi Shakya (UML) has been picked as in-charge, Narayan Dahal (Maoist Center) has been Chairperson of the Province 3 Committee. Hitman Shakya and Aananda Prasad Pokharel were appointed as deputy-in-charge and secretary of the Provincial Committee, respectively. 

Similarly, Prithvi Subba Gurung (UML), who is also Chief Minister of Gandaki Province, was chosen as in-charge of Gandaki Province, and Khagraj Adhikari deputy in-charge. Hitraj Pandey and Gobinda Nepali were nominated as chairperson and secretary of the provincial committee respectively. 

Similarly, Shankar Pokharel (UML), who is also Chief Minister of Province 5, has been picked as in-charge of Province 5, while Onsari Gharti (Maoist Center) is appointed as chairperson of the Province 5 Committee of the party. Dal Bahadur Rana and Jag Prasad Sharma were chosen as deputy-in-charge and secretary, respectively, of the party’s provincial committee. 

In Karnali Province, Janardan Sharma of the erstwhile CPN (Maoist Center) has been given the responsibility of party in-charge. Similarly, Gorakh Bahadur Bogati (UML) has been named as chairperson of the provincial committee. Yam Lal Kandel and Maya Prasad Sharma are appointed as deputy in-charge and secretary of Karnali Provincial Committee, respectively. 

Senior leader Bhim Bahadur Rawal (UML) was chosen as in-charge and Karna Thapa (UML) as chairperson of the Province 7 Committee of the party. The secretariat meeting has picked Laxman Datta Joshi as deputy-in-charge and Nepa Chaudhar as secretary of the party’s provincial committee.

Although the NCP top leadership finalized the appointment of provincial in-charge and office bearers, the newly-formed NCP is yet to settle the unification process of the party’s 22 sister organizations and 77 district committees. Sources said there is serious difference in various district over appointment of the party’s office bearers as the erstwhile UML and the Maoist Center have staked claim for the same. 



Leave A Comment