NC finalizes hierarchy of party leaders, Dr Shekhar Koirala on the 21st position

Published On: December 30, 2021 07:55 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Dec 30: Nepali Congress (NC) has finalized the hierarchy of newly-elected office bearers and central working committee members.

According to the new hierarchy of the party leaders, Dr Shekhar Koirala, who was the nearest rival to President Sher Bahadur Deuba during the 14th General Convention, has been given the 20th position in the hierarchy.

President Deuba has decided to keep Dr Koirala the 20th position in the party's hierarchy despite the fact that there is a tradition to give second or the third rank to the nearest rival candidate of the party president. Although leaders close to Dr Koirala had earlier protested the interim decision to keep him in the 20th position, President Deuba seems adamant in his decision.

As per the new hierarchy, the NC has kept newly-elected office bearers and the party's office bearers in the past on the top followed by the newly-elected CWC members. While President Deuba is on the top, two vice presidents Purna Bahadur Khadka and Dhanraj Gurung are on the second and the third rank, respectively. Similarly, General Secretaries duos Gagan Kumar Thapa and Bishwa Prakash Sharma are on the fourth and fifth position.

The hierarchy of the newly-elected General Secretaries duos is followed by the hierarchy of eight Joint-General Secretaries. Joint-General Secretaries Farmullah Mansoor (6th), Umakant Chaudhary (7th), Mahalaxmi Upadhyay "Dina" (8th), Bhishma Raj Aangdambe (9th), Mahendra Yadav (10th), Kishor Singh Rathour (11th), Badri Pandey(12th) and Jiwan Pariyar (13th) are on the party's new hierarchy.

CWC members Gopal Man Shrestha, Dr Shashank Koirala, Chitra Lekha Yadav, Dr Ram Sharan Mahat, Arjun Narasingh KC and Sunil Bahadur Thapa on the party's hierarchy after Joint-General Secretaries. Dr Shekhar Koirala has been kept in the 21st position in the party's hierarchy after six CWC members.

While Dr Shekhar Koirala was automatically appointed as the CWC member after his defeat in the party's president, Shrestha, Dr Shashank Koirala, Yadav, Dr Mahat, KC and Thapa were elected as the CWC member in the recently-held General Convention.

Leave A Comment