Naya Shakti forms 7 committees for poll preparation

Published On: March 31, 2017 12:30 AM NPT

-Puts forth conditions for participating in the poll
-To protest against election symbol issue

KATHMANDU, March 31: Naya Shakti Nepal led by former prime minister Baburam Bhattarai has formed seven committees to prepare the party for the upcoming elections, but has said that it will not take part in the polls unless the conditions it has set are addressed. 

Putting forth seven conditions for participating in the polls, the party has said that it may resort to obstructing the polls if its conditions are not met. “We are firm on our position that three sets of elections should be concluded by January 2018 for the implementation of the new constitution. But if our conditions are not addressed, I don't see the possibility of our party taking part in the polls,” said the party's coordinator Bhattarai at a press meet in the capital on Thursday. 

The party has also decided to protest against the decision of the Election Commission (EC) and the provision in the Local Level Election Act that do not assign individual election symbols to parties outside parliament. 

Unveiling the decisions of the party's federal council meeting held earlier this week in the capital, party spokesperson Khimlal Devkota said that the party will stage sit-ins at the EC office in Kathmandu and its district offices on April 2 if the EC didn't change the decision. Expressing discontent over the bill related to local level elections which does not provide individual election symbol to the political parties outside parliament, Naya Shakti has demanded amendment to the bill. 

Bhattarai even called Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal on Tuesday evening, demanding correction in the provision. 

Meanwhile, the party has formed seven committees to prepare for the local, provincial and federal elections. An election mobilization committee has been formed under the coordination of Bhattarai, manifesto drafting committee under Keshav Dahal, volunteers committee under Ganga Shrestha, finance management committee under Pasang Sherpa and spokespersons committee under Devendra Paudel. The party has also appointed coordinators for each of the seven provinces in view of the election. 

“Our party aims to become a major political force after the elections. We are also holding talks for unification with other parties,” said Bhattarai, without disclosing the names of such parties.

Leave A Comment