National Assembly election: 230 voters in Gandaki

Published On: January 21, 2020 12:45 PM NPT By: RSS

KASKI, Jan 21: Gandaki State has a total of 230 votes in the election to the members of the National Assembly scheduled for January 23.

According to the District Returning Officer, 60 State Assembly members and 170 mayors and deputy mayors of the municipalities and chairs and deputy chairs of the rural municipalities in the Gandaki State can cast votes in the NA election. A vote of the State Assemblymember carries the weightage of 48 while a vote of the chief-deputy chief of the local level bears 18 weight. With this, the total vote weightage of Gandaki State is 5,940 including 2880 of State Assembly and 3,060 of local levels.

Five candidates from the ruling Nepal Communist Party, opposition party Nepali Congress and Rashtriya Janamorcha are contesting for the two NA positions in the election. Spokesperson Narayankaji Shrestha and Bhagawati Neupane are contesting in the 'other group' category from CPN while Nepali Congress has fielded Surya Prasad Regmi and Bimala Gauchan in the same category.

Janamorcha has presented the candidacy of Shanker Baral in the 'other group' category in the election. District Returning Office Chief Mahendra Subedi informed that voting will take place from 10.00 am to 4.00 pm on the coming Thursday. -

Leave A Comment