MNNMF to honor four including former President Yadav, right activist Ghimire

Published On: February 23, 2024 04:47 PM NPT By: RSS

KATHMANDU, Feb 23: The Mahendra Narayan Nidhi Memorial Foundation (MNNMF) has decided to honor the first President of the Republic of Nepal, Dr Ram Baran Yadav, with this year's (2080 BS) Mahendra Narayan Nidhi National Award. 

According to Foundation Chairman Purushottam Dahal, the Foundation decided to honor the first President in recognition of his significant role in drafting and promulgating the constitution of federal democratic republic Nepal and his outstanding contribution to Nepal's democratic movement spanning around five decades. 

Likewise, the same award for the previous year (2079 BS) is to be conferred on senior freedom fighter and former minister Yog Prasad Upadhyay. 

ABC Nepal's founding chair and rights activist Durga Ghimire and first Nepali woman tabala player and noted practitioner of classical music, Sarita Mishra, have been selected for the Premsagar Devi Nidhi National Award for the years 2080 and 2079 BS, respectively. 

Each award carries a purse of Rs 101,000. 

The award handover ceremony will be held on February 25 that marks the 103rd birth anniversary of late Mahendra Narayan Nidhi. 

Earlier, an award selection committee coordinated by former Chief Secretary Dr Bimal Koirala was formed to make the recommendations for nominees of the awards.


Leave A Comment