Meetings of ten parliamentary committees scheduled for Tuesday morning

Published On: May 16, 2023 09:00 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, May 16: The parliamentary committees will come into existence finally six months after the formation of the House of Representatives.

The committees include Finance, International relations and tourism, industry and commerce and labor and consumer interest, law, justice and human rights, agriculture, cooperatives and natural resources, women and social affairs, state affairs and good governance, infrastructure development, education, health and information technology and public accounts committee. The meeting will be chaired by the eldest member of the respective Committee until a chair is elected, according to Dasarath Dhamala, Joint-Spokesperson of the Federal Parliament Secretariat.

Most of the committees are made up of around 25 members. The major scope of the committees is to hold discussions on the bill sent by the both houses of the parliament, oversight and monitoring.

It has been reported there has been an agreement between the major political parties on the leadership of the committees. According to past practice, the main opposition party leads the Public Accounts Committee.


Leave A Comment