Major parties field ‘heavyweight’ leaders in Kaski

Published On: November 16, 2017 07:04 AM NPT By: Santosh Pokharel

POKHARA, Nov 16: Kaski district is considered as the center of Province 4. The district also happens to have the highest number of constituencies among all the districts of the province, becoming the biggest electoral battleground of Province 4. 

As a result, the upcoming parliamentary and provincial elections on November 26 are expected to witness tough and intense contest between the major political parties.

The excitement of elections has gripped the voters and politicians alike. Voters are taking this election seriously. They are viewing it as an opportunity to shape the further development of Lekhnath-Pokhara Municipality. 

Furthermore, the election is being taken as a base to lay foundation to the district’s economic prosperity. Political parties and candidates have left no stone unturned in a bid to win the elections.
Major parties have fielded some ‘heavyweight’ leaders in the elections. UML youth leader Rabindra Adhikari, who has already worked as president of the parliamentary development committee; current Minister for Law Yagya Bahadur Thapa; and former health minister Khagaraj Adhikari are all in the electoral battlefield in the constituencies of Kaski.

In the second Constituent Assembly (CA) elections in 2013, Nepali Congress (NC) and CPN-UML had shared two constituencies each in the district. This time, UML has forged an alliance with CPN (Maoist Center) to counter the democratic alliance led by NC. People are curious to know who would emerge victorious. The district has a total of 255,452 registered voters.

NC has fielded Yagya Bahadur Thapa in constituency-1 for parliamentary elections, while Jeevan Pariyar and Krishna KC are representing the party in constituency 1 (a) and 1 (b) respectively for the provincial assembly seats. Likewise, Devraj Chalise is contesting from NC in constituency-2 for parliamentary elections. Guru Baral and Binda Kumar Thapa of NC are representing the party in constituency 2 (a) and 2 (b) respectively. 

The ruling party has fielded Shukra Raj Sharma the parliamentary election in constituency-3, Sharad Paudel in 3 (a) and Bhoj Bahadur Gurung ‘Sikandar’ in 3 (b). 

In the parliamentary election, the left alliance has fielded Khagraj Adhikari in constituency-1, Rabindra Adhikari in constituency-2, and Jagat Bishwakarma in constituency-3.

Likewise in the provincial elections, Deepak Koirala from constituency 1 (a), Man Bahadur Gurung from constituency 1 (b), Krishna Thapa from constituency 2 (a), Rajkaji Gurung from constituency 2 (b), Ramji Prasad Baral from constituency 3 (a), and Rajiv Pahari from constituency 3 (b) are contesting against the democratic alliance.

UML’s Rabindra Adhikari is looking to achieve a ‘hat-trick’ by winning his third elections, while Yagya Bahadur Thapa and Khagaraj Adhikri are also fixed on repeating their previous election victories. Door-to-door campaign has become the candidates’ priority.

Leave A Comment