Mahabir registers first league win

Published On: September 26, 2016 09:40 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Sept 26: Bottom side Mahabir Club registered its first win in the Martyrs Memorial B Division League football tournament in its 11th match on Monday defeating Nayabasti Youth Club 3-2 at the APF ground in Halchowk, Kathmandu.

With the first win, relegation struggler Mahabir has now four points with two matches left and sits unchanged at the bottom of the table. 

Mahabir had numerical advantage over its opponent since early moment of the match after Surendra Gurung of Nayabasti was shown red card in the 14th minute. Mahabir was awarded freekick for the foul and skipper Bikash Gurung converted it to give his side a 1-0 lead. 

Nayabasti leveled the scores four minutes later with skipper Bikash Rai achieving the target with his stunning finish. 

Mahabir retained the lead in the 74th minute after Umesh Thapa hit the target. Determined Nayabasti again restored parity in the stoppage time with goal from Ramesh Tamang. 

As the match was heading to a draw, Saroj Thapa scored a last-gasp goal to seal victory for Mahabir. 

With the outcome, Nayabasti stands seventh with 13 points from 11 matches.

In other match of the day, Satdobato Youth Club climbed to fifth in the standings after producing a 2-1 victory over Madhyapur Youth Association.

Sinka Kumar Tamang and Ripu Bhulan scored one goal each for Satdobato in the 59th and 80th minutes respectively. Madhyapur's Sajan Pradhan pulled one back in the injury time but it was too late as his side faced fifth defeat of the league.

The defeat means Madhyapur lies around the relegation zone with just 10 points after playing 11 matches. The former A Division outfit has two wins, four draws and five defeats. 

Top Scorers 
Goals    Player
7    Tanka Singdan (Shree Kumari), Bhuwan Basnet (Samajik)
6    Ripu Bhulan (Satdobato)
5    Suraj Raut (Khumaltar) 
4    Bike Tamang (RCT), Purna Gurung (Pulchowk), Suresh Khatri (Samajik), Tejendra Pun (Pulchowk), Saroj Thapa Magar (Mahabir), Sajan Pradhan (Madhyapur) 

Leave A Comment