Local governments take strict measures to contain the spread of coronavirus

Published On: August 11, 2020 12:10 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Aug 11: As COVID-19 ravages villages and cities, the federal and provincial governments are taking strict measures to curb the spread of the virus. All the seven provinces have imposed a lockdown of some sort in their respective places. Earlier, the government had eased 120-day lockdown on July 21. 

Province 2, where the death toll has crossed 30, has halted the movement of people. Birgunj, Bara, Parsa and Rautahat have been hard hit by the pandemic.

In province 1, the government has issued a prohibitory order in Jhapa, Morang, Sunsari and in other big towns and cities. In Bagmati Province, at least 12 people have succumbed to COVID-19. The local administrations in Kathmandu valley have suspended all the services, except for the essential ones. Several core valley areas have also been sealed off. Over 1,700 people have already been infected by the virus.  

Gandaki Province has issued a prohibitory order in Syangja district. Many districts in the province have not seen a rapid spike in the number of cases.

Banke, Kapilvastu and Bardiya have been affected by the virus in province 5. The government has allowed only emergency and essential services.  At least 10 people died from the virus.

In Karnali province, at least four deaths related to the virus have been recorded, and the government has imposed a lockdown in Chandannath Municipality of Jumla district.

The government has issued a prohibitory order in Kanchanpur district, and Dhangadi is on high alert in Sudurpaschim province. Seven people have already died of the virus. 



Leave A Comment