Local bodies elect 14,402 women representatives

Published On: May 27, 2022 08:00 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, May 27: A total of 14,402 women have been elected out of 55,699 women candidates in the local bodies from the recently held election, the Election Commission (EC) shared as per the details received so far. This accounts for 40.89 percent of the total elected representatives.

As per the data entry into the EC’s system till Thursday evening, three local bodies have elected both chiefs and deputy chiefs from the election. 

Women have been elected chief in 25 different local units from this local level elections.   

Phulbati Rajbanshi has been elected as the Chairperson and Pujan Neupane Kunwar as the Vice-Chairperson of Gaurigunj Rural Municipality in Jhapa district.

In Bhairawai Rural Municipality of Dailekh district, Rita Shahi and Devi Bhandari are elected as the Chair and Vice Chair, respectively. 

Likewise, both the women candidates made to the Mayor and Deputy Mayor in Lamki Chuha Municipality. Sushila Shahi was elected Mayor while Juna Chaudhary was elected as Deputy Mayor in Lamki Chuha.

Of the total 8,196 women candidates in Province 1, altogether 2,455 women have been elected while 2,700 women candidates made to the post from 15,780 women candidates in Madhes Province. 

Likewise, 2,347 women have emerged victorious from among 8,344 women candidates in Bagmati Province. 

According to the EC, 1,622 women out of 4,649 women candidates won the election in Gandaki Province while the number of women winning the election stood at 2,124 from 8,767 candidates in Lumbini Province. 

Similarly, 1,524 women candidates are elected in Karnali Province from among 4,878 women candidates and the number of women winning election in Sudurpaschim Province is 1,560 out of 5,085 women candidates.


Leave A Comment