Judicial Council appoints 15 High Court judges

Published On: November 20, 2019 04:54 PM NPT By: Ananta Raj Luitel

KATHMANDU, Nov 20: The Judicial Council (JC) headed by Chief Justice Cholendra SJB Rana has  appointed 15 High Court Judges.

The meeting of the JC held on Wednesday decided to recommend the Chief Justice to appoint six District Judges, one government attorney and eight law practitioners for the position of High Court judges.

Those promoted from District Court judges are Kiran Kumar Pokhrel, Murari Babu Shrestha, Sudarshan Raj Pandey, Dipendra Adhikari, Ramesh Raj Pokhrel and Narishwor Bhandari. Government Joint Attorney Geeta Prasad Timsina is also promoted for the High Court judgeship.

The lawyers picked for the High Court judgeship are Milan Kumar Rai, Rajuram Silwal, Merina Shrestha, Meena Gautam Sedhain, Somkanta Mainali, Desh Bahadur Sarki, Rekha Thapa Pandey and Kiran Kumari Gupta.

The JC had recently demanded the government to increase the quota for High Court and Supreme Court in order to tackle the increasing work load in the judiciary but the government has not yet decided to increase the existing numbers of judges in the courts.  

Leave A Comment