Jitendra, Santosh into quarterfinals

Published On: January 28, 2017 08:16 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Jan 28: Jitendra Pariyar, Santosh Khatri and Pranabh Khanal have advanced to the men’s singles quarterfinals of the ongoing Ninth Sahabir Memorial Open Lawn Tennis Tournament on Friday. 

In the matches held at Satdobato’s tennis court, Jitendra edged past Pradip Khadka 6-0, 6-0 while Santosh overcame Abhash Malla 7-5, 6-2 and Pranabh defeated Aryan Giri 6-0, 6-1 to book their places in the last eight. Similarly, Samrakshak Bahadur Bajracharya, Saksham Karki and Kumar Adhikari also reached to quarterfinals registering victories in their respective matches on the same day. Samrakshak overcame Adit Subedi 6-0, 6-0 while Saksham beat Samyak Bahadur Bajracharya 6-1, 6-2 and Kumar registered victory of 6-1, 6-0 over Bikash Khadka. 

In the meantime, Bijisha Shrestha, Bhagwati BK and Ganga Sharma reached to the last eight in women’s single event as they beat Sarashwati Shrestha, Cathay Mathema and Sneha Yadav respectively in the matches played at Satdobato. Similarly, Ani Mathema and Prerana Koirala also booked their spots in quarterfinals registering wins over Saloni Tamang and Lumu Tshering Lama respectively. 

The men’s doubles event saw pairs of Aryan Giri and Sunit Giri, Pranabh Khanal and Renjan Lama have advanced to the quarterfinals.  Aryan and Sunit registered win of 6-3, 6-3 over the pair of Kubehang Chamling and Nischal Adhikari while the pair of Pranabh and Renjan edged past the pair of Aditya Subedi and Arabh Samrat Hada 6-0, 6-1.

Likewise, the pair comprising of Nabin Magar and Pradip Khadka registered win of 6-3, 6-2 over the pair of Durga KC and Anuj to reach the last eight. From the same event the pair of Bikash Khadka and Abhinabh Acharya also made to last eight as they defeated the pair comprising of  Harsha Wardan Chand and Adit Subedi 6-3, 6-2. 

Meanwhile, Chandra Thapa, Rajoj Man Shrestha has reached to the quarterfinals from theinter governmental singles event overcoming the challenge of Bikash Pandey and Bikash Malla respectively in the matches played at APF’s court, Halchowk. Similarly Ram Rana and Amulya Singh also confirmed their spots in the last eight beating Prem Kumar Shahi and Sanjay Jha respectively. In the same event, Uttam Bogati enjoyed walkover to follow other quarterfinalists.

Likewise Niraj Thapa emerged victorious in the men’s 35 plus veteran’s singles event as he defeated Anuj Arora 6-2, 6-0. With the win Niraj reached the quarterfinal while Atma Ram Karki followed him to last eight as he enjoyed walkover. 

Leave A Comment