Jayatu Sanskritam marked

Published On: June 15, 2017 07:10 PM NPT By: Republica

KATHMANDU, June 15: The 'Jayatu Sanskritam', the first student movement that took place on 1st Asar, 2004 BS ( 15 June 1947) has been commemorated amid a function here Thursday. The movement was marked organizing various programs today . 

The protest was called demanding democracy and to include the modern subjects including English, Maths, Science, Geography among others in the curriculum of the students of of Rajakiya Sanskrit Vidyalaya situated nearby the Ranipokhari. 

The protest was demonstrated against the then Rana regime. The main proponents of the Jayatu Sanskritam movement were Parashuram Pokhrel, Purna Prasad Brahman, Sribhadra Sharma, Kamal Raj Regmi, Ram Prasad Neupane, Rajeshwar Devkota, and Gokarna Shastri. 

Students had submitted a memo to the then Prime Minister Padma Shamsher requesting to introduce these modern subjects but PM did not respond to them, unfortunately, they were sent into exile by the Rana rulers. Later they joined the agitation launched for the establishment of democracy led by B.P. Koirala and other revolutionary leaders in India. 

The Morning rally today was organized from Balmeeki Vidyapeeth and concluded upon reaching Durbarmarga. The movement had given the then Rana regime a big shock and remains as one of the noticeable benchmarks in the fight against the autocratic Rana rulers. 
Addressing the program, vice chancellor at the Nepal Sanskrit University Prof Dr Kul Prasad Koirala stressed the importance of Sanskrit language. 

The Jayatu Sankritam Award of this year is to be provided to Prof Dr Bishnu Raj Atreya (Lato Sathi) for his Sanskrit epic 'Hanumadayan'. The award carries a purse of Rs 11,111. RSS 

Leave A Comment