HLFARC suggests 18 Ministries, one authorized trade union in Center

Published On: June 2, 2017 05:00 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, June 2: The High-Level Federal Administrative Restructuring Committee has proposed 18 ministries including the Office of Prime Minister and Council of Ministers at the Center (federal level). 

Lawmakers in the meeting of the State Affairs Committee under the Legislature-Parliament today also agreed on the same recommendation. The constitution has the provision to have maximum 25 Ministries in the center. The lawmakers have suggested having only one authorized trade union in Center rather having various trade unions affiliated to political parties. 

The Committee has proposed the Finance and Planning; Federal Affairs and General Administration; Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs; Industry, Commerce and Supplies; Tourism and Culture; and Agriculture, Cooperatives and Land Management ministries along with the explanation of their jurisdictions in the center. 

Likewise, it has proposed the Ministries of Home Affairs; Water Resources and Energy; Foreign Affairs; Physical Infrastructure, Transport and Civil Aviation; Defense; Education, Sports, and Science & Technology; Women, Inclusion and Social Justice; Information and Communications; Health; Human Resources; Youth, Labor and Employment; and Forest and Soil Conservation at the federal-level. 

The proposal presented by the Committee to the State Affairs Committee states that such a number of ministries were seen suitable at the center while analysing Nepal’s constitution, the study report on basic principles of organization, work details report, country’s situation and other international practices. 

On the occasion, General Administration Minister Keshav Kumar Budhathoki urged the lawmakers to put collective views after discussing in their respective parties rather presenting personal views in the meeting. 

Similarly, lawmakers Yubaraj Gyawali, Bhim Acharya, Rameshwar Phunyal, Prem Suwal, Ishwari Neupane among others opined for not increasing the number of the Ministries more than 18. 

The committee president Dil Bahadur Gharti shared that they will move ahead after receiving suggestions from all sides and expert's views. RSS 

Leave A Comment