Heavyweights in fray rise election vibe

Published On: November 9, 2017 08:18 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

RATNANAGAR, Nov 9: The competition of heavyweights in the imminent elections of the House of Representatives and Provincial parliaments has added vibes among voters here. 

Former prime minister, former minister, sitting minister and lawmakers are in fray, which has created a significant election aura in Chitwan. 

With the key persons fighting to be people's representatives, the programs and campaigning are full of spirit and enthusiasm of voters and cadres, making calculation of the concerned leaders' win and loss and formulating strategy accordingly. 

"It's a matter of interest and concern for all as even the former prime minister and sitting minister are in the election fray," said voter Manoj Aryal. 

Former Prime Minister and Chairman of CPN (Maoist Centre), Pushpa Kamal Dahal, former finance minister Surendra Pande, Minister for Forest and Soil Conservation and Vice-Chairman of RPP (Democratic) Bikram Pande, Minister of State for Education, Seshnath Adhikari and former Minister for Land Reform, Dambar Shrestha are contesting in the elections. 

The area drawing everyone's attention is constituency no 3 from where former PM and Maoist Centre Chairman Dahal is contesting. He is being contested by RPP (Democratic) Vice Chairman and sitting minister Pande. 

Dahal is the election candidate from the left alliance while Pande from the democratic alliance. 
Minister of State for Education Seshanath Adhikari is fighting from constituency no 2. From the same area, left alliance's leader from UML, Krishna Bhakta Pokharel is in the fray. Leader Pokhrel said the victory of left alliance was inevitable in the district. 

Maoist Chairman Dahal is electioneering actively, arguing that his party was for stable peace and prosperous nation. 

Meanwhile, candidates of major political parties are busy in door-to-door campaign. Dhan Bahadur Grurng and Uttam Acharya from the Nepali Congress are contesting in State Assembly 'A' and State Assembly 'B' of the constituency no 1 respectively. 

Similarly, Jit Narayan Shrestha and Prakash Adhikari are the candidate in the State Assembly 'A' and 'B' of the constituency no 2 while Dinesh Koirala and Sajan Kumar Mahato in State Assembly 'A' and State Assembly 'B' of constituency no 3 respectively. 

On the other hand, the leftist alliance has made Dawa Lama and Krishna Khanal as the candidate in State Assemblies 'A' and 'B' of the constituency no 1 respectively. 

Similarly, Ghanshyam Dahal and Bijay Subedi are in the race to the election of State Assemblies 'A' and 'B' of the constituency no 2 while Krishna Bhurtel and Ramlal Mahato are the candidate of State Assemblies 'A' and 'B' of constituency no 3 are competing from leftist alliance. 

There are 161 polling centres and 408 voting stations for 354,036 voters in the district, said District Election Officer, Hari Dhakal. 


Leave A Comment