Govt waives fines for vehicles during the prohibitory period

Published On: July 15, 2021 12:14 PM NPT By: Himal Lamsal

KATHMANDU, July 15: The federal government has decided to waive the fines for vehicles during the prohibitory period imposed for the control and prevention of COVID-19. 

A meeting of the Council of Ministers held on July 8 has decided not to impose fines on renewal of driver's license, route permit, pollution test, vehicle renewal. 

The government has decided that no penalty will be levied for the renewal till mid-August for those whose documents expired on April 29.

The Ministry of Physical Infrastructure and Transport had recommended to the cabinet to waive the additional fees, charges and penalties incurred while renewing the services related to the operation of the transport system from April 29, 2021 (when the prohibitory period started) to mid-August.

In view of the prohibitory order issued by the government, the Ministry had proposed to approve necessary amendments in the Electronic Driving License Registration System of the Department of Transport Management for the implementation of facilities such as penalty exemption and concession given as per the decision of the provincial government. 

The Ministry, in accordance with the Article 36 of the COVID-19 Crisis Management Ordinance, had recommended renewing the inspection pass of public vehicles falling under the jurisdiction of the federal government, renewal of vehicle pollution inspection pass and renewal of route license. The cabinet meeting had decided to implement the proposal of the ministry.

Chief of the Transport Office, Gurjudhara, Deepak Pokharel, said that the provincial government has made an arrangement in the budget to extend the deadline for payment of revenue during the prohibition period. "It has been decided to waive the fine only for the period when the office remained closed from April 29 to June 21," he said. 

"As the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Planning has issued a circular, we have been waiving the fine accordingly." Office Chief Pokharel said that the office had also waived the renewal fee for the lockdown period last year. 

According to the Transport Office, a fine of 5 percent will be levied if the vehicle tax is paid within 30 days after the deadline expires. There is a provision of 10 percent penalty if paid within 45 days, 20 percent after it crossed 45 days and 32 percent after the fiscal year ends.

Meanwhile, Bishnu Bhattarai, chief of the Transport Management Office, Chabahil, said that no circular has been issued so far regarding the exemption of the fine. The transport management offices have been operating by maintaining social distance from June 22. At present, there are 17 Transport Management Offices across the country, including four in the Kathmandu Valley.


Leave A Comment