Govt to have 17 ministries, UML to finalize ministers

Published On: February 23, 2018 10:25 AM NPT

KATHMANDU, Feb 23: The government has decided to reduce the number of ministries from 18 to 17.

The meeting of cabinet of ministers has decided to do so. Likewise, Bishnu Rimal has been appointed as chief advisor to Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli, Chetan Adhikari, press coordinator of PM Oli said.   

Following the cabinet of ministers meeting, CPN UML is holding a central committee meeting to finalize candidates for the ministries.

During a meeting held Thursday at the prime minister’s residence at Baluwatar, PM Oli and Maoist Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal agreed to divide the ministerial portfolios on 60:40 ratio. The CPN-UML will hold 10 out of 17 ministries, excluding the office of prime minister, while Maoists will take the remaining.  

With multiple aspirants eyeing ministerial berths of their choice, both Oli and Dahal have found themselves in a difficult position. More than three dozen leaders are in the race to become full ministers, while several others are lobbying to be state ministers, according to leaders. 

Some probable faces from the Maoists include Lekhraj Bhatta and Pampha Bhusal.  Chakrapani Khanal,Shakti Basnet, Amik Sherchan, Girirajmani Pokharel and Devendra Paudel.

At the UML, a similar row rages over key portfolios like finance, defense and foreign affairs. UML General Secretary Ishwor Pokharel is likely to hold the Finance Ministry. Other probable candidates include Pradeep Gyawali, Yogesh Bhattarai, Rabindra Adhikari, Bhanubhakta Dhakal, Naradmuni Rana, Basanta Nembang and Shanta Chaudhary.

If all goes well, the Oli led government plans to expand its ministries today itself.

Proposed ministerial portfolios 

Ministry of Finance and Planning 
Ministry of Foreign Affairs 
Ministry of Defense 
Ministry of Physical Infrastructure and Transport 
Ministry of Health and Population 
Ministry of Federal Affairs and General Administration 
Ministry of Information and Communications 
Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs 
Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation 
Ministry of Education and Sports 

CPN (Maoist Centre) 
Ministry of Home Affairs 
Ministry of Forest and Environment 
Ministry of Water Resources and Energy
Ministry of Industry, Commerce and Supplies 
Ministry of Labour, Employment, Women and Children 
Ministry of Urban Development, Drinking Water and Sanitation 
Ministry of Agriculture, Cooperatives and Land Management


Leave A Comment