Govt forms three-member inquiry committee to probe dedicated trunk line dispute

Published On: January 9, 2024 09:17 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Jan 9: The government has formed a probe committee to resolve the tariff dispute of dedicated and trunk lines.

Minister for Industry, Commerce and Supplies Ramesh Rijal said that the cabinet meeting held on Tuesday decided to form a three-member inquiry committee chaired by former Supreme Court justice Girish Chandra Lal.

“The government has decided to form a committee under the coordination of a former justice. It has been decided to reconnect the power supply to the industries, which had been disconnected," he said. "The committee will have the joint secretary of the Ministry of Energy and the joint secretary of the Ministry of Industry as members.”

The cabinet meeting has also decided to give instructions to reconnect the power lines to the industries.

Energy Minister Shakti Bahadur Basnet had held a discussion on Friday with the operators of industries whose lines were cut. During the discussion, Minister Basnet had said that he will find alternatives to solve the problem.

Following the meeting, Minister Basnet met with Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal and suggested that it would be appropriate to form a committee to solve the problem. Prime Minister Dahal had promised to solve the problem by forming a committee while meeting the industrialists after the lines were disconnected.

A day after meeting with the industrialists, Dahal called the chairman of the Electricity Regulatory Commission Dilli Bahadur Singh and Managing Director of Nepal Electricity Authority (NEA) Kulman Ghising to discuss the issue of solving the problem. During the discussion, Ghising disagreed with Prime Minister Dahal on forming a committee.


Leave A Comment