Govt enforces ban on entry of people from nine countries amid risk of Omicron virus

Published On: December 3, 2021 09:23 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Dec 3: The government has decided to impose a ban on the arrival of people from nine countries including those from the African continent which recorded the cases of Omicron virus. The decision came into effect at midnight Thursday. 

After the government order, the passengers coming from these nine countries should mandatorily stay in hotel quarantine for seven days on their own expenses.   

A meeting of the Council of Ministers held Monday decided to restrict the passengers from South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Malawi and Hong Kong.

The Office of the Prime Minister and Council of Ministers stated that the passengers coming to Nepal via those countries or those visiting there within the past three weeks would be restricted from coming to Nepal. The government took such a decision to apply precautions against the new variant of COVID-19 that has gradually increased in recent days.

Likewise, the government has decided not to issue on-arrival visas to the foreigners coming from those countries.


Leave A Comment