Govt decides to open only 10 border points as cross-border movement from India increases risks of COVID-19

Published On: August 11, 2020 10:20 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

International border to be closed till September 16

KATHMANDU, Aug 11: Government has decided to allow cross-border movement of people only from ten designated border points.

A cabinet meeting held on Monday made the decision after a review of its earlier decision to open 20 border points.  The decision comes in the wake of the sharp increase in COVID-19 cases in recent days mainly in the districts bordering with India. 

According to Minister for Information and Communication Technology Dr Yubraj Khatiwada, the border points that will be open for cross-border movement include Kakarbhitta in Jhapa, Rani in Morang, Madar in Siraha and Gaur in Rautahat district. Similarly, the government has also decided to allow cross-border movement of people through Birgunj of Parsa, Belahiya in Rupandehi, Krishnanagar in Kapilvastu, Jamunaha in Banke, Gauriphanta in Kailai and Gaddachauki in Kanchanpur.

Those entry points, however, are designated only to Nepali nationals, who are in emergency to return home in Nepal and the cargo vehicles. 

Nepal’s international border will remain closed until September 16. Anyone breaching the order and entering in Nepal is liable to legal action, Dr Khatiwada said.

Leave A Comment