Government restructuring its ministries

Published On: March 2, 2018 04:39 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Mar 2: The government has begun restructuring those ministries as per their new work allocation. 

The spokesperson at the Office of the Prime Minister and Council of Ministers (OPMCM), Dilliram Sharma said that they have been carrying out the restructuring works in consonance with the new work allocation pertaining to the newly-reconstituted ministries. 

The government has decided to decrease the number of ministries from 31 to 18. The OPMCM has also distributed the works and responsibilities of the re-constituted ministries by issuing the Government of Nepal Work Allocation Regulations-2074. 

He said, "We are restructuring the ministries along with new work division and will give completion to the reconstituted ministries soon." 

Sharma said that the government has been making preparation regarding a number of employees in ministries after carrying out organizational and management survey. 

He said, "Numbers of employees would obviously decrease as there will be only 18 federal ministries. We will make a decision regarding the number of employees to be assigned to the ministries later on after a survey." 

As per the new work allocation the 18 federal ministries include the Office of the Prime Minister and Council of Ministries; the Ministry of Finance; the Ministry of Industry, Commerce and Supplies; the Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs; the Ministry of Agriculture; the Ministry for Land Management and Cooperatives; the Ministry for Water Supply and Urban Development; the Ministry of Home, Water Resources and Energy; the Ministry of Foreign Affairs; the Ministry for Physical Infrastructure and Transport; the Ministry of Defense; the Ministry for Forest and Environment; the Education Ministry; the Ministry for Science and Technology; and the Ministry for Youth and Sports. 

Also among the 18 ministries are the Ministry for Labour, Employment, Women, Children and Social Security; the Ministry for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation; the Ministry for Federal Affairs and General Administration; the Ministry for Information and Communications; and the Ministry for Health and Population. RSS

Leave A Comment