Five-match T20 series: Nepal secures victory over visiting team in final match

Published On: May 4, 2024 04:22 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, May 4: Nepal secured a convincing victory over the visiting team in the final match of the T20 series between Nepal and West Indies 'A'. 

Nepal triumphed by 6 wickets at the TU Cricket Ground on Saturday, successfully chasing down West Indies 'A's target of 173 runs in 18.5 overs. Despite the win, Nepal lost the series, with West Indies 'A' claiming victory in the five-match series with a score of 3-2.

Asif Sheikh and Anil Shah played pivotal roles in Nepal's victory, both scoring fifties. Opener Sheikh smashed 51 runs off 35 balls, including 2 fours and 5 sixes, while Anil Shah contributed 58 runs off 45 balls, featuring 4 fours and 4 sixes. Kushal Malla remained unbeaten with 37 runs off 18 balls, including 3 fours and 3 sixes, rescuing Nepal after the early dismissal of opener Kushal Bhurtel for 13 runs. 

Dipendra Singh Airee contributed 5 runs off 6 balls before being dismissed. Obed McCoy claimed 3 wickets and Matthew Forde took 1 wicket for West Indies 'A'.

Earlier, West Indies 'A', opting to bat first after winning the toss, posted a total of 172 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in their allotted 20 overs. 

Alick Athanaze top-scored with an unbeaten 42 runs, followed by contributions from Captain Roston Chase scored 33 runs, Johnson Charles scored 24 runs , and Matthew Forde scored 23 runs. 

In the final match, Nepal's Sompal Kami and Sagar Dhakal each took 3 wickets with impressive bowling performances. 

Sompal Kami claimed 3 wickets for just 16 runs, while spinner Sagar Dhakal conceded only 17 runs in his 2 overs to take 3 wickets. Abhinash Bohora also chipped in with a wicket for Nepal.


Leave A Comment