Far West State delegation urges Foreign Minister Gyawali to open Dodhara-Chandani dry port

Published On: August 14, 2019 07:15 PM NPT By: RSS

KATHMANDU, Aug 14: A delegation from the Far West State drew the attention of Minister for Foreign Affairs Pradeep Kumar Gyawali to take initiatives to open Tanakpur transit and Dodhara-Chandani dry port.

The delegation led by Minister for Physical Infrastructure Development of the State Pathan Singh Bohara on Wednesday called on Minister Gyawali at his office and apprised him of the border and other problems facing districts sharing a border with India. The delegation made this demand in the wake of the visit of Indian Minister for External Affairs to Nepal.

The two-lane Brahmadev-Mahendranagar road linking Tanakpur has been blacktopped, and initiatives should be taken to open long-closed bridge under the ownership of Indian government, said Dipak Prakash Bhatta, the lawmaker representing Constituency-3 of Kanchanpur district.

Similarly, he said they drew the attention of the Minister to open the Belauri checkpoint of Kanchanpur and Khakraula checkpoint of Kailali. The lawmaker from Baitadi, Damodar Bhandari, said they urged Minister Gyawali to draw the attention of External Affairs Minister of India for the construction of a bridge on the Mahakali River of inner-Madhes of Dadeldhura district.

The Minister was also urged for the construction of another bridge on the Mahakali River at Jhulaghat and Tallo Sorad of Baitadi district. The opening of the Tinker checkpoint in Darchula was another demand put forth before the Minister.

In the meeting, Minister Gyawali assured that the border-related issues would be discussed between the officials from two countries. The unequal ownership of the Mahakali River water has created problems relating to its use, said lawmaker Bhatta quoting Minister Gyawali.

The team comprised State Minister for Physical Infrastructure Bohara, lawmaker Bhatta, Kanchanpur Chairman of Nepal Communist Party, Bir Bahadur Thapa, former lawmaker Kriparam Rana, Puran Dayal, State assembly member Leeladhar Bhatta, among others.

Leave A Comment