Election process for new PM begins

Published On: June 6, 2017 01:26 PM NPT By: Republica

KATHMANDU, June 6: The election process to the post of the Prime Minister has started at the Legislature-Parliament on Tuesday. 

Though the  the meeting for the election of the PM was scheduled at 1:00 pm today, it only started at 1: 30 pm.

In the first phase of the meeting CPN-UML chairman   KP Sharma Oli is expressing his views in the  parliemnt. 

The Article No 298 (3) of the Constitution and the Parliament Regulations 2073's chapter-9, clause 49 stipulate the process of electing the PM. As per that provision, the election process is beginning in the parliament. 

The election for the new PM had begun after the Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal resigned from the post on May 24. With the approval of the PM'S resignation, President had called political parties to form consensus government providing seven days for the same. 

President Bhandari had called the parties to elect the PM on the majority basis after parties failed for consensus within the given deadline. 

Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba is a lone candidate in PM's race. It may be noted that Deuba has served as PM three times before. 

Leave A Comment