EC to provide election symbols today

Published On: May 5, 2017 01:20 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, May 5: The Election Commission (EC) on Friday is providing election symbols to parties contesting the first phase of the local elections scheduled for May 14. 

As per the electoral law, parties other than those represented in parliament and independent candidates will get independent election symbols. Only 27 parties represented in parliament will get the chance to contest the election with their party symbols.  

"We have tentatively finalized the name-list of the candidates contesting the elections," said EC Spokesperson Surya Prasad Sharma, adding, "Still, the commission will give a final touch to the list before publishing it and election symbols will be distributed to the candidates." 

Altogether 49,207 candidates are contesting for 13,556 posts in 283 local units in three provinces where the EC is holding the first phase of elections on March 14. 

Of them, 16,505 women candidates (including Dalit) are contesting at the local level. This does not include the number of women contesting for the executive position. Apart from fielding at least two women as members, the parties are required by the election law to filed one female candidate for either the chief or deputy chief of a local unit. 

"Very few have registered their candidacies for the post of chief. Most women candidates are confined to deputy chief," said Sharma adding, "Since we are still in the process of verifying details, it is not yet clear how many women are contesting the elections."

Leave A Comment