CPN-UML expels Ghanashyam Bhusal and Prabhu Sah, among others, from party

Published On: December 10, 2022 07:05 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Dec 10: The CPN-UML has expelled Ghanashyam Bhusal and Prabhu Sah from the party on charge of being involved in the activities against the party during recently-held elections of the members of House of Representatives and provincial assemblies.

Deputy General Secretary and Chief of the Communication Department of the party Prithvi Subba Gurung informed that the party’s Secretariat meeting held in Chyasal on Saturday expelled them even from general members of the UML.

After failing to get an election ticket for the House of Representatives (HoR), Bhusal fought as an independent candidate from Rupandehi-1. He was, however, defeated by Chhabilal Bishwakarma of UML by a margin of 3,564 votes.

Sah also fought as an independent candidate from Rautahat-3 after the UML denied him a ticket. He defeated another independent candidate Om Prakash Jaiswal with a margin of 7,237 votes.

Likewise, the party has also scrapped the memberships of central committee members Upendra Sah, Kundan Kushwaha, Rampreet Ram, Badri Neupane, Rita Sah, Ganga Chaudhary and Tek Bahadur Balampaki on the similar charge. They have also been removed from the party’s general membership.

The UML has also removed Wangde Sherpa, Khem Subedi, Bhakta Bahadur Adhikari and Laxmi Sah from their responsibilities in central bodies of the party. Likewise, Jaitun Khatun, a proportional representative candidate, has been removed from the PR list.  

UML has won 34 seats in the recently-held elections of the HoR, while it has secured 70 seats in provincial assemblies. The party had won 80 HoR seats and 167 seats in provincial assemblies in the 2017 election.   

Leave A Comment