Contempt of court case filed against four former chief justices

Published On: January 27, 2021 02:09 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Jan 27: A contempt of court case has been registered at the Supreme Court against four former chief justices who issued a joint statement three weeks ago against the government's act of dissolving the House of Representatives.

Advocate Lochan Bhattarai filed the contempt of court case against four former chief justices Anup Raj Sharma, Kalyan Shrestha, Sushila Karki and Min Bahadur Rayamajhi saying that they committed contempt of court by issuing the joint statement on the case which was sub judice at the apex court.

"The statement given by those individuals who have already served as the chief justices of the Supreme Court has indicated and proven that they want the decisions and verdicts of the Supreme Court to their liking, that they would welcome the verdict if it is in their favor and refute, criticize or give negative views if it is not in their favor," the writ petitioner said while accusing the four former chief justices of trying to influence the ongoing Supreme Court hearing on the dissolution of parliament.

In the writ petition, Advocate Bhattarai has said that the statement by the four former chief justices is against prevailing laws and the constitution.

He has concluded that issuing such statements will raise questions on the Supreme Court and independent judiciary's dignity among the general public.

On Tuesday, two separate cases of contempt of court were filed against Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli and a case of contempt of court was filed at the apex court against former speaker of the House of Representatives Daman Nath Dhungana.


Leave A Comment