CJ-led five-member constitutional bench to conduct hearings on writ petitions filed against parliament dissolution

Published On: December 25, 2020 11:55 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Dec 25: A constitutional bench headed by Chief Justice (CJ) Cholendra Shumsher Rana is scheduled to begin hearings on more than a dozen writ petitions filed at the Supreme Court against the dissolution of parliament.

A five-member bench has been formed under CJ Rana to conduct hearings on the writ petitions filed against the government for the dissolution of the House of Representatives (HoR) or the lower house of the federal parliament.

The five-member bench comprises justices Bishwambhar Prasad Shrestha, Tej Bahadur KC, Anil Kumar Sinha and Hari Krishna Karki.

The bench will issue a verdict on the KP Oli-led government's move to dismiss the HoR in the third week of December. 

On Wednesday, a single bench of Chief Justice Rana conducted initial hearings on the writ petitions. The bench did not issue any ruling, but it forwarded the cases to the constitutional bench.

Altogether 13 writ petitions have been registered at the apex court challenging the government's decision to dissolve parliament.



Leave A Comment