Bhatta government gains vote of confidence

Published On: March 6, 2018 09:41 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

DHANGADHI, March 6: The Chief Minister of Province-7 has gained the vote of confidence, thereby securing the leadership as per Article 168 (4) of the Constitution. 

The provincial assembly meeting held Tuesday ensured vote of confidence to Chief Minister Trilochan Bhatta with 38 votes. There were only 10 votes against it. 

Taking permission from Speaker Arjun Bahadur Thapa, Chief Minister Bhatta presented a proposal seeking the passage of the vote of confidence in line with the Constitution. 

The proposal was supported by Maoist Centre lawmaker Birbhan Chaudhary and CPN-UML's Tara Lama Tamang. 

Later, Speaker announced that 38 votes were cast in support of the proposal, which was the majority of votes from among the participating lawmakers in the assembly. 

In the meeting, Malamati Rana of Rastriya Janata Party said the State had discriminated against the Tharu community by not allowing oath of office to Resam Lal Chaudhary elected from Kailali for House of Representatives, while Nawaraj Silwal, lawmaker from UML was administered the oath of office and secrecy. 


Leave A Comment